Game Challenge: Ironman Mode (Solo, DIY - No Trading)

Discussion in 'Community' started by PaddysPub, Nov 4, 2015.

1. Samadhi

Samadhi Donator

IGN:
    Samadhi
    Guild:
    Ironman
    Of course, English is not my first language, so I am sorry if my wording sounded confusing to you.
    I'm no expert either. This is my first private server, I come directly from 2005-2007 Maplestory era. I'm speaking mostly from my experience with the challenge and the old-school gameplay.

I feel that Pre-bb classes are all pretty unique, each one has its own way to train and progress through the game.

Going solo / no trade basically means that you need to "endure" solo training sessions from the very beginning. If you want to get a significant upgrade for your equipment, you may want to farm in places not always optimal for your class/level (I.e. I am level 109 and currently farming scrolls in Florina Beach :D).
    Unless you can grind like a machine toward very specific goals, it's really important that you enjoy every step of this journey, because it will be significantly slower, and ideally you will not be able to party to make up for your specific "shortcomings".

This said, there is no magic formula that can work for everyone. This is why I am suggesting to try out different classes, get a general feeling about their progression, lurk the forums and see what "clicks" for you.

If I had to start a new Ironman character with a practical mind, there are some relevant questions I would ask myself:

- Can I endure a slow "power curve"? (classes whose early levels are generally considered pretty slow and underwhelming, i.e. corsairs or bowmen)
    - Are my endgame equips and related scrolls easily farmable from the environment? (i.e. Answer for BW Paladins is no: Crushed Skull, 30% 1hbw scrolls and w.atk shield scrolls are Gacha exclusive)
    - Is my class able to solo-farm effectively? (= good spammable aoe skills?)