Tutorial: MapleRoyals on Steam Deck (Fully Working!)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by devedse, Oct 3, 2022.

  1. devedse
    Offline

    devedse Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hey all, as promised in my previous post I wanted to make a guide on how to get MapleRoyals working on the steam deck.

    Here's a video of it working:


    And a screenshot (as proof :)):
    [​IMG]

    Here are all the steps that have to be done:

    1. Install Bottles
    upload_2022-10-3_10-36-28.png

    2. Install the right Proton in Bottles

    2.1 Open bottles preferences (Click hamburger menu and click preferences)
    upload_2022-10-3_10-38-45.png

    2.2 Go to 'Runners' and install GE-Proton7-33
    upload_2022-10-3_10-40-6.png

    2.3 Close preferences again

    3. Create Bottle and install MapleRoyals
    3.1 Open Bottles (if you haven't already)
    3.2 Click on the + icon in the top left corner
    upload_2022-10-3_10-42-46.png
    3.3 As name type in 'Maple3' (all my scripts are named like this, feel free to choose something else but it'll require a bit more fiddling)
    3.4 Chosote Custom and look for GE-Proton7-33
    upload_2022-10-3_10-44-20.png
    3.5 Click the blue create button
    3.6 Download the MapleRoyals setup
    3.7 Open the Maple3 Bottle and run the setup executable
    upload_2022-10-3_10-45-41.png
    3.8 After installation you should now see this:
    upload_2022-10-3_10-46-31.png
    3.9 Before starting it we need to do some configuration so that it works nicely in steam
    3.10 On the left go to Preferences
    3.11 Click on Display Settings
    3.12 Configure a Virtual Desktop (In the previous versions of Bottles this loooked somewhat different), but in the end it should work the same:
    upload_2022-10-3_10-49-11.png
    3.13 You should now be able to launch MapleRoyals from outside of Steam

    4. Launching MapleRoyals from Steam
    4.1 By default launching MapleRoyals from Steam doesn't work so we need to do a bit more work here.
    4.2 Open the `kwrite` text editor and create a file `/home/deck/Maple.sh` with the following content:

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    WINEPREFIX=/home/deck/.var/app/com.usebottles.bottles/data/bottles/bottles/Maple3 /home/deck/.var/app/com.usebottles.bottles/data/bottles/runners/GE-Proton7-33/files/bin/wine /home/deck/.var/app/com.usebottles.bottles/data/bottles/bottles/Maple3/drive_c/MapleRoyals/MapleRoyals.exe
    upload_2022-10-3_10-53-32.png
    4.3 Make Maple.sh executable by right clicking it, going to Properties, then Permissions and then selecting "Is executable"
    upload_2022-10-3_10-54-45.png
    4.4 Open steam in desktop mode
    4.5 In library, on the bottom left, add a non steam game
    upload_2022-10-3_10-57-0.png
    4.6 Just click something random and click "ADD SELECTED PROGRAMS" (E.g. Discord in my case)
    4.7 Look for Discord and open properties
    4.8 Change the properties to match this:
    upload_2022-10-3_11-3-38.png
    TARGET:
    Code:
    ""/home/deck/Maple.sh""
    START IN:
    Code:
    ""/home/deck/.var/app/com.usebottles.bottles/data/bottles/bottles/Maple3/drive_c/MapleRoyals/"
    (Watch the quotes)

    4.9 Go back to the Desktop and click "Return to Gaming Mode"
    upload_2022-10-3_11-6-1.png

    5. Playing MapleRoyals on Steam Deck
    By going to "Non-Steam games" and clicking run on Maple.sh, MapleRoyals will now start.

    Logging in in MapleRoyals is quite hard on the Steam Deck due to the Keyboard not working too nicely for me. I simply bought a tiny tiny bluetooth keyboard:
    https://minitoetsenbord.nl/product/...toetsenbord-incl-bluetooth-dongle-rt-mwk08bt/

    There's different ones available but this one is nice to just throw in your bag and bring with you.

    6. Configuring controller
    This is of course all up to you but you can configure your controller from the Steam client (in game mode).
    My loadout:
    R1/L1: Clicking
    R2/L2: Jump/Teleport
    Arrows/Left Analog: Walking
    Left Pad: Buffs
    Right Analog: Radial menu with emotes (F1-F12)
    Right Pad: Mouse
    Buttons Front: Most used skills + pots
    Buttons Rear: More buffs / random stuff
    Start/Select button: Escape and Inventory

    7. Updating MapleRoyals
    When a new update is required usually the game will start for a second and then exit without any information on why. This usually means there's a new MapleRoyals update.

    To install this do the following (same steps as before):
    7.1 Open Dekstop mode and download the new Setup
    7.2 Open Bottles
    7.3 Open the Maple3 Bottle
    7.4 Click Run Executable
    7.5 Install MapleRoyals again
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 3, 2022
    Patze507, Jack :3, Anston and 10 others like this.
  2. devedse
    Offline

    devedse Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    22
    <reserved>
     
    Sylafia likes this.
  3. David
    Offline

    David Donator

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    628
    IGN:
    Tainted
    Level:
    195
    Guild:
    AllStars
    Devour good game spooky spider wamen :PBGasp:
     
  4. JuliusOmega
    Offline

    JuliusOmega Donator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    715
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Guayaquil/Ecuador
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    OmegaArrows
    Level:
    200
    Guild:
    Create
    omg MapleRoyals is portable now , i need one this ! :3 nice work!
     
  5. devedse
    Offline

    devedse Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    22
    Please let me know if it all worked the way I described it :). I hope I haven't missed anything.
     
  6. Jtk3443
    Offline

    Jtk3443 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    IGN:
    Seepyboy
    Can you add your display settings? Everything works great except maplestory isn't nice and centered like your picture on steam deck. I think you used the same picture twice on the display step. Great tutorial though!
     
  7. Wafflz
    Offline

    Wafflz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2022
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Worked well for me when I got it working in Gaming mode. Don't make the "Maple.sh" file in Windows and send it over, the script complains about Windows newlines. Make it yourself or change the newlines after sending it to the Steam Deck.

    Thanks for the tutorial! I might try the latest GE-Proton-7-37 to see if it works with that, but 33 works perfectly afaik.

    I also put up a steam community layout for "Maple.sh". You have to enable turbo for the buttons if you want "Ctrl" presses to act like "press-and-hold". Gonna play it more like this tonight.

    Have you tried Steam Button + Left D-Pad to hit ESC and then heading to the "System Options" and then enabling "Full Screen"? I have to do it every time I start the game up, but it takes up the whole screen for me.
     
  8. Wafflz
    Offline

    Wafflz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2022
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    BTW Just tested and GE-Proton-7-37 works flawlessly.

    Edit: Getting some crashes here and there...gonna try to pinpoint why.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2022
  9. devedse
    Offline

    devedse Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    22
    I indeed see that I added an incorrect screenshot. I'll probably fix that at some point.

    Can you make a screenshot / picture of the issue you're running into with the screen not being centered?
     
  10. Jtk3443
    Offline

    Jtk3443 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    IGN:
    Seepyboy
    The screen is windowed until you go into the in-game settings and select full screen, then it is identical to your picture.
     
  11. devedse
    Offline

    devedse Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    22
    You can always try to bind Alt+Enter to a key to ease that process (if it doesn't save for you)
     
    Wafflz likes this.
  12. Sennin
    Offline

    Sennin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    118
    Country Flag:
    Level:
    7x
    its easy to do? one big reason for buy a steam deck lol this is awesome!
     
  13. devedse
    Offline

    devedse Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2021
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    22
    If you can follow the steps it should work :). Just remember that it's easier if you have one of those tiny Bluetooth keyboards.
     
  14. Neomagic
    Offline

    Neomagic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2022
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Squzgar
    Just followed all of this setup. Maple launches correctly from Bottles, the Maple.sh executable, and from Steam within desktop mode. Launching from gaming mode gives me a spinning steam logo....i can hear the game running in the background, but cant switch to it. Any ideas?
     
  15. Wafflz
    Offline

    Wafflz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2022
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Have you made sure to do this from the guide in Bottles?

    3.10 On the left go to Preferences (when you have the Maple3 Bottle selected)
    3.11 Click on Display Settings
    3.12 Configure a Virtual Desktop (just enable it, no other settings need to be messed with)
     
  16. Neomagic
    Offline

    Neomagic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2022
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Squzgar
    Yep, 100% followed and rechecked. It worked for a little bit yesterday after forcing compatibility, but it's back to the same behavior again.
     
  17. Wafflz
    Offline

    Wafflz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2022
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hmm that is strange. Did you create the Maple.sh file in Linux? Also, did you use the same Proton build as described in the OP? The script needs to point to the right dir based on the Proton build. Also, make sure the "START IN" line ends with a single double-quote.
     
  18. Neomagic
    Offline

    Neomagic Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2022
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    Country Flag:
    IGN:
    Squzgar
    Yep! Copy-pasted from the forum exactly, while on the Deck. Currently, what "sorta" works is forcing compatibility modes from within Steam itself....but even that only sometimes works. Once i'm past the "spinning logo of doom" the game plays perfectly.
     
  19. aweetod
    Offline

    aweetod Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2022
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    Does it matter which setup or install you use. WZ vs IMG. Sorry i'm computer illiterate thanks
     
  20. Wafflz
    Offline

    Wafflz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2022
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    3
    I used the WZ installer with success. Haven't tried IMG.
     

Share This Page